Kanon x Kanon: The Euro 2011 Tour Finale Interview

On Friday 18 November 2011, visual duo Kanon x Kanon (pronounced ‘Kanon Kanon’) concluded their debut European tour with a performance at the O2 Bar Academy in Islington, London. The pair had been to Europe and the UK previously, but with their respective other projects; gothic Lolita cello-vocalist Kanon Wakeshima had performed a charity performance at Hyper Japan in London, while Kanon, the male bass-player of the popular oshare kei group An Cafe had been to Europe and the UK on several occasions with the band.

We caught up with the twosome in London for a chat about miracles, double decker buses,  and their plans for 2012… and is that a hint from Kanon that An Cafe will be back next year? Read on and find out.

In the meantime, Kanon x Kanon’s digital EPs are available now in the UK, more information on these is available on our site by clicking here.

For live photos from Kanon x Kanon’s London live performance, check out JPU buddy Kevin Gilvear’s gallery of the evening by clicking here, and also by viewing our slideshow at the end of this interview.

You’ve both played and visited Great Britain before, please tell us about your impressions of it.

Kanon says:
“I love the buildings and architecture here, they’re so cute! I could walk around British towns all day long and never be bored.”

Kanon says:
“Double decker buses!
They are cool.”

What can we expect in 2012 from Kanon x Kanon?

Kanon says:
“We want to visit more places and maybe release some new songs, but we’re doing things at our own tempo.”

After touring with the all-boy company of An Cafe, how do you find touring with a girl?

Kanon says:
“Aaaaaaah…. touring with the An Cafe guys is great!
I miss touring with the boys…”

And how’s life on tour with a boy for you, Ms. Wakeshima?

Kanon says:
“Yes.
It’s ok. :)”

The internet has been rife with rumours that An Cafe will be back in the summer of 2012, are these rumours true?

Kanon says:
“An Cafe is still on hiatus…
But there’s always a chance that we’ll get back together.”

And what are your plans for your solo career, Kanon Wakeshima?

Kanon says:
“I’ve been conducting my solo shows in Japan for the past few months. They’ll run for four consecutive months in total, and the final date of the tour will happen when I return to Japan. The tour is produced entirely by myself and the songs I play are my new songs, which I also produced. I’m hoping that these songs will go towards my next album.”

Tonight is the final date of your Kanon x Kanon x Kanon Euro Tour 2011, what have been the highlights?

Kanon says:
“I had some technical problems with my DJ set in Moscow. It was the first date of the tour and I was worried I’d have problems for all the dates. But now the tour is over I feel relieved that there wasn’t any major problems.”

Kanon says:
“For me, the biggest highlight was visiting new countries for the first time and having the people welcome us with so much energy. Their energy gives me the power to continue. Thank you all so much.”

On this tour, Kanon Wakeshima allowed fans to request anime themes for her to cover. Did some of their choices surprise you?

Kanon says:
“Yes! Pandora Hearts! I’m surprised people outside of Japan know this anime, it’s kind of niche in Japan. So I was wondering how they know it.”

Kanon says:
“‘Moonlight Densetsu‘ from Sailor Moon! There were so many requests for this song. I was also surprised, like Kanon, at how European people watch and learn about anime. There was lots of requests from K-On!, it made me think ‘hmm, is K-On! popular in Europe?'”

Were there any anime songs that Kanon secretly requested for Kanon Wakeshima to play?

Kanon says:
“Yes! You can guess my request, you saw it when you arrived.” [when I got to the venue, I caught Kanon playing around with Miku Hatsune stuff – Tom]

Which Japanese artists do you think we should keep an eye on in 2012?

Kanon says:
Tom H@ck! He worked on a lot of the music from K-On! and these songs have become so popular in Japan. He’s a great musician and a great guitarist. I think 2012 will be a big year for him.” [He also works heavily with the visual kei group SuG – Tom]

Kanon says:
“Hmm, I’m not really into current pop music so I’m not sure… but idol groups have become popular again, so maybe they will continue to be strong next year.”

It’s almost the end of the year, do you have any new year resolutions for 2012? And did you achieve your  resolution for this year?

Kanon says:
“Yes, I accomplished this year’s resolution. And next year I will be very busy, so my resolution is to work hard.”

Kanon says:
“I can’t remember my resolution from last year…
But for 2012 I want to make miracles!”

Do you have any final messages for fans in the UK?

Kanon says:
“As always, thank you for your support UK! I will try my best, both in Kanon x Kanon and in An Cafe, if we decide to start again. Eitherway, please support me.”

Kanon says:
“Tom, thank you for always supporting me. And thank you to the people of Great Britain too, of course. I’m thinking of creating some new and exciting for next year, so I hope people will enjoy it.”

Here are some images of Kanon x Kanon’s London show, courtesy of Kevin Gilvear.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Tom Smith
Some say he's fuelled on nothing but energy drinks, and that when he visits Japan, he spends the whole time engaging the ground in an all too familiar way. But what we do know is that his words on the country's entertainment and culture find their way into NEO Magazine on a monthly basis, while everything else finds its way here. Be it quirky news item from the Land of the Rising Sun, or a story so gruesome it'd be rude not to pass it on, you'll find it here along with his general posts about life, work and most importantly play. And yes, he has had articles printed in the likes of MCV, GamesMaster, 360 Gamer and more, thanks for noticing.

Leave a comment