Kyary Pamyu Pamyu: Interviewed!

When we had the opportunity to interview our most favourite person in the whole universe, Kyary Pamyu Pamyu (full name: Caroline Charonplop Kyary Pamyu Pamyu), we obviously said a big ‘YES!’ and danced around like a happy, grinning prat for days on end. The interview was originally printed in NEO Magazine #91 as part of a feature showcasing the candy-loving Jpop star, before she became famous in Japan.

Currently, Kyary Pamyu Pamyu’s debut mini album ‘Moshi Moshi Harajuku‘ is out now, along with her singles ‘Pon Pon Pon‘, ‘Jelly‘, ‘Tsukemetsukeru‘ and ‘Candy Candy‘ from the iTunes UK store.

We love your music videos! Who comes up with the ideas behind your PVs?

Kyary says:
I have a lot of discussions with the video’s director and we come up with an idea from there.

Can you tell us about working with Sebastian Masuda from 6% DOKIDOKI?

Kyary says:
It was lots of fun working together and I got lots of inspiration through talking with him.
.

In the video to ‘Pon Pon Pon’ you ride a unicycle – did you learn how to ride it especially for this video?

Kyary says:
I’ve loved riding unicycles since I was in elementary school. I taught myself how to ride it with my friends. It was fun to do it for this video as I haven’t done it for a long time!

Are the outfits in your videos designed by you? If not, which designers or brands are involved?

Kyary says:
I draw the design blue prints and then we create the outfits from there with my stylist.
.

Who are your favourite designers, brands and fashion icons?

Kyary says:
I love the designer Yoshie Itabashi! As for brand, I like Candy Stripper and I think Katy Perry is a fantastic fashion icon.

You’re still so young! What was school life like for you? Were you a typical good student? What were your favourite subjects?

Kyary says:
I was a typical, simple high school student.
I always abide school rules and I enjoyed Art the most.

How did your path cross with Yasutaka Nakata?

Kyary says:
I was DJing at a club event for teenagers that was hosted by Mr.Yasutaka Tanaka.  We were just talking about doing fun things and it was so natural to get together and create something fun together.

Were you nervous to work with such a well-known producer?

Kyary says:
Actually… at first, I thought someone was trying to trick me!
I was very surprised.

At Japan Underground, girls often request ‘Pon Pon Pon’, and they know all the dance moves! Can you tell us about the meaning behind this songs?

Kyary says:
I’m so glad girls are copying my dance moves over there!!
This song’s message is to be positive and keep moving on!

Can you tell us about why you chose ‘Moshi Moshi Harajuku’ for the title of your debut mini-album?

Kyary says:
Harajuku is the place that gave me an opportunity to be a model – it’s also a place I love. So I included Harajuku. At the time we were going to release the album digitally in 23 different countries, so we wanted to include Japanese words which everyone knows, like “Konnichiwa” and “Moshi Moshi”.  That’s how we, Yasutaka Tanaka and I, came up with the name.

How would you describe yourself? Already the media is comparing you to Japan’s answer to Lady GaGa. What do you think of this comparison?

Kyary says:
I personally like Lady GaGa so I am delighted that people have been comparing me to her.  But, I believe she is unique, nobody can compare to her.

It’s unusual to see girls with their finger in their nose, or making silly faces – do you sometimes wish you were a boy?

Kyary says:
No way!! I want to re-born as a girl again if I have a choice!
But, maybe it’s easier when washing hair as a boy!

Do you think we’ll ever see you in London?

Kyary says:
No plan yet!!
But I really want to come!!!

What advice would you give to girls who want to be famous like you?

Kyary says:
Hmmm.. maybe you’ll have a chance if you dress up nicely and cutely in Harajuku?
It worked for me.

Do you have any final messages for British fans?

Kyary says:
I would really love to come to UK to have live show!  And…
… I really love Harry Potter!

About Tom Smith
Some say he's fuelled on nothing but energy drinks, and that when he visits Japan, he spends the whole time engaging the ground in an all too familiar way. But what we do know is that his words on the country's entertainment and culture find their way into NEO Magazine on a monthly basis, while everything else finds its way here. Be it quirky news item from the Land of the Rising Sun, or a story so gruesome it'd be rude not to pass it on, you'll find it here along with his general posts about life, work and most importantly play. And yes, he has had articles printed in the likes of MCV, GamesMaster, 360 Gamer and more, thanks for noticing.

Leave a Reply

